2009 Victorian Twitchathon Race Results

To: <>
Subject: 2009 Victorian Twitchathon Race Results
From: "Tim Dolby" <>
Date: Tue, 10 Nov 2009 12:12:29 +1100
Hi birders,

The Victorian Twitchathon has been run and won and what a race! It was
the most participated race Victoria has ever had! 16 teams birded across
the state, spelling good tidings for sponsorship and the BA Victorian
Research Grant. The Hillbillys, a new thon team based in the picturesque
Noojee in Gippsland, have alone raised nineteen hundred dollars. Well
done! We also had 5 team school teams this year! Big thanks to John
Renowden for excellent assistance in co-ordinating this. It was a very
hot race; when my team birded at our secret location in northern
Victoria (Goschen FFR, damn.. I didn't mean to say that) it was 38
degrees. Please see below the final results for the 2009 Victorian

The winner of the 24 hr race was SEVEN YEAR TWITCHERS with 215 species
(Tim Dolby, Greg Oakley, Fiona Parkin).

This was followed closely by the Bush Turkeys with 208 species (Sean
Dooley, Nevil Amos, Stuart Cooney, Paul Peake) and the Robin Rednecks
with 203 species (Michael Ramsey, Matt Weeks, Simon Starr).

The 8 hr race was one by the COMMON LOADMOUTHS with 145 species (Greg
Hunt, Philip Jackson, Russell Thomson).

2 teams snapped at their heals: the Common Driving Petrelheads with 144
and Norwegian Blues with 141.

Nominating the best bird for the competition was really hard. In the 24
hr there was a choice between Pied, Black and Scarlet Honeyeater,
Red-backed Kingfisher, Australian Koel, Blue-billed Duck, Shy Heathwren
and Chestnut Quail-thrush. In the 8 hr it was between Southern Emu-wren,
Brolga and Black Honeyeater. Our independent judge, the Honorable Stuart
Dashper, chose Australian Koel in the 24 hr and Black Honeyeater in the
8 hr. Well done Bush Turkeys and Common Loadmouths.

In the 24 hr this included Gang-gang Cockatoo, Shy Albatross, Grey
Currawong, Black-shouldered Kite, Horsfield's Bronze-Cuckoo, Indian Myna
and Wedge-tailed Eagle. In the 8 hr Nankeen Ketrel and no Egrets. The
Honorable Stuart Dashper chose Indian Myna in the 24hr and 'no egrets'
in the 8hr. Well done Tree Creeps and Common Loadmouths.

The winner of the school teams was the Cryptic Curlews. Well done. We
ended up with 20 students who all seemed to really enjoy the experience.
Eleven of the students were in Year 6.

Please send your sponsorship form to the BA Vic Treasurer via Birds
Australia Head Office. Receipts will be returned by BA Vic to you.

Don't forget the launch of Birds Australia's new book 'Where to See
Birds in Victoria'. WHERE: Birds Australia National Office, 60 Leicester
Street, Carlton. WHEN: this Thursday November 12th; 6.30 pm - 8.30 pm.
Free Champagne. See you there.


    24 HOUR RACE

215 Seven Year Twitchers
    Tim Dolby, Greg Oakley, Fiona Parkin
    Best bird Pied Honeyeater, worst dip Gang-gang Cockatoo

208 Bush Turkeys
    Sean Dooley, Nevil Amos, Stuart Cooney, Paul Peake
    Best bird Australian Koel, worst dip Shy Albatross

203 Robin Rednecks (Nth Vic)
    Michael Ramsey, Matt Weeks, Simon Starr
    Best bird Red-backed Kingfisher, worst dip Grey Currawong

181 Twitching BigEyes
    Steve Davidson, Andrew Hurnard
    Best bird Black Honeyeater/Scarlet Honeyeater, worst dip
Black-shouldered Kite
    (Also had a car breakdown)

172 Gang-gang Gang
    Paul Dodd, Ruth Woodrow, Russell Woodford, Pete Shute, Karen Pearson
    Best bird Scarlet Honeyeater, worst dip Horsfield's Bronze-Cuckoo

160 Ruddy Bustards
    Matt Gibson, Gavin Thomas, James Fitzsimons
    Best bird Shy Heathwren, worst dip Dusky Moorhen

138 Tree Creeps (Nth Vic)
    Ross Potter, Bill Paul, Nathan Trushell, Matt Kavanagh
    Best bird Chestnut Quail-thrush, worst dip Indian Myna

94  The Hillbillys (Base town Noojee, Gippsland)
    Norm Sherar, Glenda Sherar, Tammy Sherar, Jonny Shirley, Norman
    Helena Anderson, Lee Pattisen and Wendy Morton-Duggan
    Best bird Blue-billed Duck, worst dip Wedge-tailed Eagle

53  Cryptic Curlews (School Team)
    Nicholas Adam, Alex Swann and Cameron Dart
    Best bird Plumed Whistling-Duck (at Serendip), worst dip: Spotted

48  Kookaburras (School Team)
    Nisura Perera, Sherman Quach, Joshua Ranftl, James Nicholls, Erhard
van Nierkerk)
    Best bird Whistling Kite, worst dip Feral Pigeon

40  Adventurers (School Team)
    Nick Raymond, Brandon Van Zeyl, Ryan Barton and Connor Barton
    Best bird Australasian Gannet, worst dip Laughing Kookaburra

39  Schmobbes (School Team)
    Joanne Lim, Kathryn Wilson, Nicola Rosmilia and Indica Lovell
    Best bird Superb Blue Fairy-Wren, worst dip Crested Pigeon

30  Redbelly Honeyeaters (School Team)
    Brittany Hammond, Lauren Hollier, Michaela Grima and Stephanie
    Best bird Pink-eared Duck, worst dip Black Swan

    8 HR RACE

145 Common Loadmouths
    Greg Hunt, Philip Jackson, Russell Thomson
    Best bird Black Honeyeater, worst dip no egrets

144 Common Diving Petrelheads
    Lawrie Conole and Grant Bavestock.
    Best bird Southern Emu-wren, worst dip, Nankeen Kestrel

141 Norwegian Blues
    Jack Krohn and George Pergaminelis
    Best bird Brolga


Tim Dolby

This email, including any attachment, is intended solely for the use of the 
intended recipient. It is confidential and may contain personal information or 
be subject to legal professional privilege. If you are not the intended 
recipient any use, disclosure, reproduction or storage of it is unauthorised. 
If you have received this email in error, please advise the sender via return 
email and delete it from your system immediately. Victoria University does not 
warrant that this email is free from viruses or defects and accepts no 
liability for any damage caused by such viruses or defects.

To unsubscribe from this mailing list,
send the message:
(in the body of the message, with no Subject line)
<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>
  • 2009 Victorian Twitchathon Race Results, Tim Dolby <=

The University of NSW School of Computer and Engineering takes no responsibility for the contents of this archive. It is purely a compilation of material sent by many people to the birding-aus mailing list. It has not been checked for accuracy nor its content verified in any way. If you wish to get material removed from the archive or have other queries about the archive e-mail Andrew Taylor at this address: andrewt@cse.unsw.EDU.AU