Ramsar wetlands extended

To: "Birding-Aus" <>
Subject: Ramsar wetlands extended
From: "Lorraine Cairnes" <>
Date: Fri, 6 Dec 2002 14:55:11 +1100
Good news for wetland bird habitat - I noticed today that the Commonwealth has extended the boundaries of seven Ramsar wetlands. 
The wetlands are: 
Hunter Estuary Wetlands (formerly Kooragang Nature Reserve Ramsar Site); Ashmore Reef National Nature Reserve; Coral Sea Reserves; Elizabeth and Middleton Reefs Marine National Nature Reserve;  the Dales; Fivebough and Tuckerbill Swamps; and Banrock Station Wetland Complex. The Commonwealth Minister for the Environment and Heritage has issued a notice under s.327 of the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act.

Lorraine Cairnes
Castlecrag NSW
<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>
  • Ramsar wetlands extended, Lorraine Cairnes <=

The University of NSW School of Computer and Engineering takes no responsibility for the contents of this archive. It is purely a compilation of material sent by many people to the birding-aus mailing list. It has not been checked for accuracy nor its content verified in any way. If you wish to get material removed from the archive or have other queries about the archive e-mail Andrew Taylor at this address: andrewt@cse.unsw.EDU.AU