Research Directory [Update 7]

Subject: Research Directory [Update 7]
From: Stephen Ambrose <>
Date: Mon, 10 Feb 1997 07:55:18 +1000



This is a note of thanks to all those people who responded to my request for 
about funded bird research projects that were conducted in 1996.

There was a late rush of contributions last week which has helped make the 
more comprehensive. I have received information from 84 research groups (82 
from around
Australia and two from overseas). I am not sure yet how many projects will be 
in the directory, but I am sure that there will be more than 160 projects.

The people from whom I have received contributions are listed below. Could you 
check the list - two people informed me over the last couple of weeks that they 
had sent
me some information, but for some reason I did not receive them. I would hate to
accidentally omit any information that you have provided.

Now comes the task of cutting and pasting your contributions into a single 
document. I
can still accept late contributions, but I will be working on the compilation 
of the
document this week. I hope to present a first draft of a hard copy to the RAOU?s
Research Committee on Saturday, 15 February 1997. Therefore, I simply cannot 
accept any
more contributions after Thursday, 13 February. The sooner I receive 
information from
the stragglers, the easier it will be for me to incorporate it in the document.


Penny Atkinson (Murdoch University)
Colin Bailey (University of Adelaide)
Mark Barter (Australasian Wader Studies Group)
Andrew Bennett (Deakin University)
Steve Blaber (CSIRO)
John Blyth (WA Dept. Conservation and Land Management)
Walter Boles (Australian Museum)
Don Bradshaw (University of WA)
Ray Brereton (Tasmanian Parks and Wildlife Service)
Sue Brice (Taronga Zoo)
Belinda Brooker (Murdoch University)
Mike Brooker (CSIRO)
Andrew Burbidge (WA Dept. Conservation and Land Management)
Rod Caldwell (The Wetlands Centre, NSW)
Peter Cale (CSIRO/University of New England)
Belinda Cannell (Murdoch University)
Carla Catterall (University of Queensland)
Chris Chafer (University of Wollongong)
Lynda Chambers (University of Melbourne)
Angie Chapman (University of Qld/CSIRO)
Les Christidis (Museum of Victoria)
Mike Clarke (La Trobe University)
Andrew Cockburn (Australian National University)
Brian Collins (Curtin University)
Jacqueline Coughlan (James Cook University)
Ruth Coulson (University of Melbourne)
Michael Craig (University of Western Australia)
John Dell (WA Museum)
Peter Dostine (Parks and Wildife Commission of the Northern Territory)
Martin Dreschler (University of Melbourne)
Daniel Ebert (Australian National University)
Andrew Fisher (Charles Sturt University)
Hugh Ford (University of New England)
Kris French (University of Wollongong)
Stephen Garnett (SA Department of Environment and Natural Resources)
Jody Gates (University of Adelaide)
Ann Goldizen (University of Queensland)
John Grant (Centre for Rainforest Studies, Qld)
Ronda Green (Griffith University)
Merilyn Grey (La Trobe University)
Michelle Hall (Australian National University)
Rob Heinsohn (Australian National University)
Jane Hughes (Griffith University)
Ron Johnstone (WA Museum)
Darryl Jones (Griffith University)
Leo Joseph (Universidad de la Republica, Uruguay)
Jiro Kikkawa (University of Queensland)
Cilla Kinross (Orange Agricultural College, University of Sydney)
Nick Klomp (Charles Sturt University)
Elsie Krebs (Australian National University)
Ashley Leedman (Australian National University)
Sarah Legge (Australian National University)
Richard Loyn (Arthur Rylah Institute)
Sandra McKenzie (Murdoch University)
Ralph MacNally (Monash University)
Michael Magrath (University of Melbourne)
Rob Magrath (Australian National University)
Irek Malecki (University of Western Australia)
Richard Major (Australian Museum)
Graeme Martin (University of Western Australia)
Catherine Meathrel (La Trobe University)
Peter Menkhorst (Victorian Department of Natural Resources and Environment)
Rob Morrison (Flinders University)
Richard Noske (Northern Territory University)
Martin O?Brien (Victorian Department of Natural Resources and Environment)
Damon Oliver (University of New England)
Penny Olsen (Australian National University)
Ian Owens (University of Queensland)
Angela Paltridge (University of Adelaide)
Hugh Possingham (University of Adelaide)
David Priddel (NSW National Parks & Wildlife Service)
Shane Raidal (Murdoch University)
Vi Saffer (Murdoch University)
Denis Saunders (CSIRO)
Elke Schleucher (University of Frankfurt, Germany)
Richard Schodde (CSIRO)
Ian Temby (Victorian Department of Natural Resources and Environment)
Mike Weston (University Of Melbourne)
Peter Whitehead (Parks and Wildlife Commission of the Northern Territory)
Steve Williams (James Cook University)
Phil Withers (University of Western Australia)
John Woinarski (Parks and Wildlife Commission of the Northern Territory)
Ron Wooller (Murdoch University)
Stephen Ambrose (on behalf of all RAOU project officers).

Thanks also to those people who are on the e-mailing list but who have told me 
that they
did not conduct funded bird research in 1996.

Kind regards,

Dr Stephen Ambrose
RAOU Research and Conservation Manager

E-mail:    (at home)
          S.Ambrose <>  (at work)

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>
  • Research Directory [Update 7], Stephen Ambrose <=

The University of NSW School of Computer and Engineering takes no responsibility for the contents of this archive. It is purely a compilation of material sent by many people to the birding-aus mailing list. It has not been checked for accuracy nor its content verified in any way. If you wish to get material removed from the archive or have other queries about the archive e-mail Andrew Taylor at this address: andrewt@cse.unsw.EDU.AU